Used to protect the circuits of your electronic devices against short circuits and overloads, fuses are made of a ceramic or glass cylinder, the centre of which is traversed by a metal wire.

If your fuse blows, it must be replaced by a new fuse of the same type. In case of a power failure, to ensure that the wire of a fuse (which is not always visible, especially on ceramic fuses) is broken, it is necessary to test them one by one to determine if one of them is responsible for opening the circuit.

Fuses are divided into two categories:

Slow-Blow, or time-delayed
This fuse is used to start an appliance, since it "handles" the transient overcurrent due to the powering up of a pump, for example. This type of fuse is designed to withstand these very short peaks of intensity.

This type of fuse is used where no surge of current can be tolerated, even of very short duration. It provides very effective protection against the effects of short circuits. The fast-blow fuse melts very quickly as soon as the current flowing through it exceeds the set value.

The IEC 60127 standard provides four types of fuses depending on the time it takes for these devices to cut the current. Two are rapid-acting (FF, F) and two are slow-acting (T, TT), each type being defined according to the time required to cut ten times the rated current:
  • FF (Very fast acting), less than 1 ms
  • F (Fast acting), from 1 to 10 ms
  • T (Slow acting), from 10 to 100 ms
  • TT (Very slow acting), from 100 ms to 1 s

You will also find some fuses named according to their operating mode: gG fuses protect against short circuits and overloads, aM fuses protect against short circuits only.

To make your search easier, we have sorted the fuses by length, the most standard being 20 and 32 mm.

Note: If you are looking for a replacement fuse for your control system, we have listed all the fuses installed on our systems to make it easier for you.